Writers for Season 11 of Doctor Who have been announced


Five additional writers for Season 11 of Doctor Who, the British science fiction television programme, have been announced, and excited is an understatement! This season returns in Autumn 2018 and marks Jodie Whitaker’s debut as Doctor Who, making her the first female incarnation of Doctor Who. The announcement of the writers bolsters that anticipation.

The five additional writers for Season 11 are Ed Hime, Vinay Patel, Malorie Blackman, Joy Wilkinson, and Pete McTighe. The writers all come from different backgrounds and fields of experiences. Ed Himes worked on the fourth and fifth series of Skins, his work on the fourth series earned him a nomination for BAFTA craft award for Breakthrough talent.

Vinay Patel has also been nominated for the BAFTA craft award and is primarily known for his work in theatre, most recently An Adventure in Bush Theatre. He also garnered attention for the 2016 BBC Drama Murdered By My Father.

Malorie Blackman, OBE was Children’s Laureate from 2013-2015 and her Noughts and Crosses novel series was critically acclaimed. She has also written for Tv for children and young adults.

British Writer Pete McTighe’s career took off in Australia, he wrote for the second series of the Australian series The Doctor Blake Mysteries. Prior to being announced as one of the writers for Season 11 of Doctor Who, he had voiced his love for the series.

Joy Wilkinson is based in Crystal Palace, London, ever busy, her play The Sweet Science of Bruising will be showing at Southwark Playhouse in October 2018.

The four directors were also announced to be Mark Tonderai, Sallie Aprahamian, Jamie Childs, and Jennifer Perrott.

Watch the trailer for Season 11 here